The Bankers Association for Finance and Trade (Baft) has announced its Future Leaders programme class of 2018. The programme – now in its third year – supports the identification and development of the next generation of leadership in transaction banking.

Nominated by their respective institutions, the class of 2018 includes 31 individuals from 16 countries and a variety of disciplines within transaction banking.

This year’s group will be divided into four project teams to address current industry issues, including correspondent banking relationships, cybersecurity threats and defence, artificial intelligence and transaction banking recruitment. Last year’s projects addressed client onboarding, de-risking and fintech – moving beyond the buzzword and transaction banking basic training.

“We launched this programme in 2016 to identify and develop the next generation of leadership in transaction banking,” says Tod Burwell, Baft president and CEO. “We have since seen programme graduates advance important industry issues both within their own organisations and through Baft. We look forward to the contributions from the class of 2018.”

The class of 2018 begins the programme this week, and will conclude at the annual Baft North America conference in Florida in May. Several class of 2017 programme alumni will support the current class as mentors, joining Baft board members, who will again serve as project sponsors.

The mission of the programme is to engage future leaders in solving common industry challenges. Objectives include: recognising rising talent in the transaction banking industry; forming guidance on industry issues from the perspective of future leaders; building a network of young leaders that will lead the next generation; providing future leaders exposure to current transaction banking industry leaders; and creating a pipeline of talent that will contribute to industry issues through Baft.

The following individuals were selected to this year’s programme:

  • Adam Hanke – Natwest/RBS
  • Adriaan Bellaart – ING
  • Allison Vara – JP Morgan
  • Andrew Smart – Scotiabank
  • Aoun Al Aoun – Arab Bank
  • Agharza Bakhshiyev – Kapital Bank
  • Beatrice E. Lee – HSBC
  • Bret Berta – Fidelity National Information Services (FIS)
  • Charlotte Kissmeyer – SEB
  • Cristina Thome Certucha – Société Generale
  • Dario J. Sanchez – Fulton Financial Corporation
  • Elie Medlege – Banque Libano-Française
  • Hiren Shah – Pelican
  • Janice Durisin – Deloitte Transactions and Business Analytics
  • Janna Webskowski – US Bank
  • Joëlle Schmidt – Zürcher Kantonalbank
  • Karen Sabioni Oliveira – BNP Paribas
  • Karen Veslemøy Hveem – Danske Bank
  • Kerim Yebari – Deutsche Bank
  • Kit Lin – Barclays
  • Kristin Francis – PNC Bank
  • Marcus Jacobsson – Swedbank
  • Melissa Gomes – Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • Mónica Couret – BBVA
  • Nimesh Avantha – Standard Chartered
  • Ozgur Akdeniz – ANZ
  • Pani Oritis – Santander UK
  • Poppy Biswal – KeyBank National Association
  • Renny Narvaez – BNY Mellon
  • Steve Darnell – BMO Capital Markets
  • William M. Santoro – IBM