There are six new directors who have been appointed to the boards of Standard Bank Group and the Standard Bank of South Africa Limited.

They are Sir Robert Smith, chairman of the Weir Group; Sir Paul Judge, previously group planning director of Cadbury Schweppes and managing director and chairman of Premier Brands Ltd; Thulani Gcabashe, chief executive of Eskom and chairman of Eskom Enterprises; Kgomotso Moroka, practising advocate and a director of companies including MTN and African Rainbow Minerals; Chris Nissen, chief executive officer of Umoya Fishing (Pty) Ltd, chairman of Sea Harvest Corporation Ltd and a director of Tiger Brands; and Trevor Evans, chairman of Nampak Ltd and on the board of advisors for Rhodes University.