Slider
Webinar
April 28, 2020
10 AM BST
1 Day Event

The GTR UK 2020 Summary Webinar took place on Tuesday 28 April. Following on the from postponement of GTR UK 2020, originally scheduled for May due to the outbreak of the coronavirus (COVID 19) pandemic, this interactive webinar provided the opportunity to address key market themes as well as the change to reflect on the implications of COVID 19 on the future trade and broader economic landscape.

Discussions encouraged maximum engagement between participants, allowing key market stakeholders to have their say and to bring the trade finance community together in these most challenging of times.

Click Watch Now above to access the free on-demand recording of this video.

Overview and outlook – where are we now?

How has the pandemic both changed and highlighted the challenges inherent in the ‘just in time’ economic model? How seriously should concerns be taken over countries retreating into self-interest rather than collaborating to meet challenges through a global supply chain? What are the potential long-term impacts for a country losing a 3rd of its economy?

Rebecca Harding, Chief Executive Officer, Coriolis Technologies

Mirka Skrzypczak, Head of Working Capital & Trade Products, NatWest

 

Meeting the makers: The role of manufacturing in a post-COVID 19 landscape

Highlighting the impact of disruption to supply chains, forced closures and demand shocks; how would the response of both the banking sector and government provisions – from new treasury announcements to expansion of UKEF cover – be assessed? Can we expect the trend for manufacturers being asked to diversify into essential goods and equipment to be a long lasting one?

Mark Ling, Head of Trade & Supplier Finance, Santander UK

Clare Hunter, Head of Marketing & Communications, Coltraco Ultrasonics

 

How can we make sure crime doesn’t pay in the new normal?

To what extent are the effects of COVID 19 providing new opportunities for criminal activity? How are regulators and banks responding to this uptick in illicit funding and movement of goods, whether scams for essential equipment, increased cyber threats or attempts to bribe customs officials to move goods and products? What additional measures should banks processing payments linked to trade transactions take to check legitimacy of origin?

John Burbidge-King, CEO, Interchange Solutions

Jaya Vohra, Director, Head of Trade & Working Capital Product Management, Barclays

 

Panel group discussion followed by Q&A

Can we expect greater pressure to be placed on government to step up and deliver a clear and supportive industrial strategy once we are past the peak? Has there been enough joined-up thinking for a scenario previously unimaginable to so many? Is this likely to change the UK’s economic model permanently, with a larger role for the nation state? Is a Brexit transition extension inevitable now given the existing pressures already being placed on businesses?

Michael Vrontamitis, Head of Trade, Europe & Americas, Transaction Banking, Standard Chartered Bank

Caroline Stockmann, Chief Executive, Association of Corporate Treasurers (ACT)

Rebecca Harding

Chief Executive Officer, Coriolis Technologies

Dr Rebecca Harding is an independent economist specialising in trade and trade finance and CEO of Coriolis Technologies, providing data as a service to the trade and trade finance space. She is the co-author of the acclaimed 'The Weaponization of Trade: the Great Unbalancing of Policy and Economics' and 'Gaming Trade: Win-Win Strategies for the Digital Era'.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-04-21T16:22:16+00:00

Dr Rebecca Harding is an independent economist specialising in trade and trade finance and CEO of Coriolis Technologies, providing data as a service to the trade and trade finance space. She is the co-author of the acclaimed 'The Weaponization of Trade: the Great Unbalancing of Policy and Economics' and 'Gaming Trade: Win-Win Strategies for the Digital Era'.

Chief Executive Officer, Coriolis Technologies
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Mark Ling

Head, Trade & Supplier Finance, Santander UK

Mark Ling is Head of Trade & Supplier Finance, he joined Santander to drive the development of its international business across the UK in May 2014. Mark represents the bank in numerous forums, in particular UK Finance on committees that focus on exports and trade finance, also acting as lead for the bank's relationship with UKEF.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-04-21T16:22:13+00:00

Mark Ling is Head of Trade & Supplier Finance, he joined Santander to drive the development of its international business across the UK in May 2014. Mark represents the bank in numerous forums, in particular UK Finance on committees that focus on exports and trade finance, also acting as lead for the bank's relationship with UKEF.

Head, Trade & Supplier Finance, Santander UK
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Clare Hunter

Head of Marketing & Communications, Coltraco Ultrasonics

Clare Hunter leads the marketing and communications strategy for Coltraco, British manufacturers of ultrasonic technology operating in 120 countries, coordinating the company's global network. Having been with the company since 2011, Clare was awarded the 2019 GTR-BExA Young Exporter of the Year for her commitment to developing export business in advanced and emerging market countries.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-04-21T16:28:44+00:00

Clare Hunter leads the marketing and communications strategy for Coltraco, British manufacturers of ultrasonic technology operating in 120 countries, coordinating the company's global network. Having been with the company since 2011, Clare was awarded the 2019 GTR-BExA Young Exporter of the Year for her commitment to developing export business in advanced and emerging market countries.

Head of Marketing & Communications, Coltraco Ultrasonics
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Jaya Vohra

Director, Head of Trade & Working Capital Product Management, Barclays

Jaya Vohra is currently Head of Product Management for Trade & Working Capital at Barclays, where she has worked for 9 years. She has worked across GE, Citigroup and HSBC in India and the UK and has several years of experience across sales, risk and product management. More recently at Barclays, Jaya has led several new product launches, operating model changes and international expansion for the trade business.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-04-21T17:13:44+00:00

Jaya Vohra is currently Head of Product Management for Trade & Working Capital at Barclays, where she has worked for 9 years. She has worked across GE, Citigroup and HSBC in India and the UK and has several years of experience across sales, risk and product management. More recently at Barclays, Jaya has led several new product launches, operating model changes and international expansion for the trade business.

Director, Head of Trade & Working Capital Product Management, Barclays
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

John Burbidge-King

CEO, Interchange Solutions

John Burbidge-King has been CEO of Interchange, a leading anti-corruption consultancy since 2006. John is a recognised business integrity risk expert with significant cross cultural and international experience from Chile to China, across all sectors and levels of management. He is a member of the Advisory Board at Canterbury Christ University Business School, and provides advice to UK enforcement agencies.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-04-21T16:30:05+00:00

John Burbidge-King has been CEO of Interchange, a leading anti-corruption consultancy since 2006. John is a recognised business integrity risk expert with significant cross cultural and international experience from Chile to China, across all sectors and levels of management. He is a member of the Advisory Board at Canterbury Christ University Business School, and provides advice to UK enforcement agencies.

CEO, Interchange Solutions
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Michael Vrontamitis

Head of Trade, Europe & Americas, Transaction Banking, Standard Chartered Bank

Michael Vrontamitis is responsible for the bank's trade finance capabilities globally across corporate and institutional, commercial and business clients, as well as its trade finance distribution business. Michael is a member of the BAFT Global Trade Industry Council and the ICC Banking Commission Advisory Board, also chairing the Swift Offshore CNY Best Practice Working Group.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-04-21T16:32:37+00:00

Michael Vrontamitis is responsible for the bank's trade finance capabilities globally across corporate and institutional, commercial and business clients, as well as its trade finance distribution business. Michael is a member of the BAFT Global Trade Industry Council and the ICC Banking Commission Advisory Board, also chairing the Swift Offshore CNY Best Practice Working Group.

Head of Trade, Europe & Americas, Transaction Banking, Standard Chartered Bank
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Caroline Stockmann

Chief Executive, Association of Corporate Treasurers (ACT)

Caroline Stockmann has held the role of Chief Executive at the ACT since February 2017, prior to which she served as Chief Financial Officer at The British Council, the UK’s largest charity, and at Save the Children International. Caroline has 25 years’ experience in senior finance, commercial and strategic posts at companies including Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Cadbury Schweppes, Granada and Unilever/Bestfoods.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-04-21T16:36:35+00:00

Caroline Stockmann has held the role of Chief Executive at the ACT since February 2017, prior to which she served as Chief Financial Officer at The British Council, the UK’s largest charity, and at Save the Children International. Caroline has 25 years’ experience in senior finance, commercial and strategic posts at companies including Novartis Pharmaceuticals, Cadbury Schweppes, Granada and Unilever/Bestfoods.

Chief Executive, Association of Corporate Treasurers (ACT)
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Mirka Skrzypczak

Head of Working Capital & Trade Products, NatWest

Mirka Skrzypczak is an experienced product expert with 15 years’ experience in the banking industry; she currently leads the Working Capital Product team for NatWest, which covers Trade Finance, Supply Chain Finance, Invoice Finance and Overdrafts. Mirka is passionate about driving innovation and technology change, and is leading the bank's interaction with blockchain consortia

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-04-27T08:24:32+00:00

Mirka Skrzypczak is an experienced product expert with 15 years’ experience in the banking industry; she currently leads the Working Capital Product team for NatWest, which covers Trade Finance, Supply Chain Finance, Invoice Finance and Overdrafts. Mirka is passionate about driving innovation and technology change, and is leading the bank's interaction with blockchain consortia

Head of Working Capital & Trade Products, NatWest
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)
Slider

Address: Online, Webinar

Telephone/Fax:

Website:

SPEAKING OPPORTUNITIES

Director, Conference Production

Email: Jeff Ando at jando@gtreview.com

MARKETING/MEDIA OPPORTUNITIES

Marketing Manager

Email: Elisabeth Spry at espry@gtreview.com

BOOKING QUERIES

Email: Sales Team at salesteam@gtreview.com

Sorry, this event has now expired and is no longer bookable.

Privacy Policy

Our privacy commitments

This Privacy Policy outlines the information we may collect about you in relation to your use of our websites, events, related publications and services (“personal data”) and how we may use that personal data. It also outlines the methods by which we and our service providers may (subject to necessary consents) monitor your online behaviour to deliver customised advertisements, marketing materials and other tailored services. This Privacy Policy also tells you how you can verify the accuracy of your personal data and how you can request that we delete or update it.

This Privacy Policy applies to all websites operated by Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd (as indicated on the relevant website).

This privacy statement does not cover the activities of third parties, and you should consult those third-party sites’ privacy policies for information on how your data is used by them.

Any questions regarding this Policy and our privacy practices should be sent by e-mail to privacy@gtreview.com or by writing to Data Protection Officer at, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, 4 Hillgate Place, London, SW12 9ER, United Kingdom. Alternatively, you can telephone our London headquarters at +44 (0) 20 8673 9666.

Who are we?

Established in 2002 and with offices in London and Singapore, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd is the world’s leading trade and trade finance media company, offering information, news, events and services for companies and individuals involved in global trade.

Our principal business activities are:

  • Business-to-Business financial publishing. We provide a range of products and services focused on international commodities, export, supply chain and trade finance markets including magazines, newsletters, electronic information and data
  • Organisers of seminars, conferences, training courses and exhibitions for the finance industry

Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd is a company registered in the United Kingdom with company number 4407327 | VAT Registration: 799 1585 59

Data Protection Policy

This Data Protection Policy explains when and why we collect personal information about people who visit our website, how we use it, the conditions under which we may disclose it to others and how we keep it secure.

Why do we collect information from you?

Our primary goal in collecting personal data from you is to give you an enjoyable customised experience whilst allowing us to provide services and features that will meet your needs.
We collect certain personal data from you, which you give to us when using our Site and/or registering or subscribing for our products and services. However, we also give you the option to access our Sites’ home pages without subscribing or registering or disclosing your personal data.

We also collect certain personal data from other group companies to whom you have given information through their websites (including, by way of example, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd and subsidiaries, in accordance with the purposes listed below). Should we discover that any such personal data has been delivered to any of the Sites, we will remove that information as soon as possible.

Why this policy exists

This Data Protection Policy ensures Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd:

  • Complies with data protection law and follow good practice
  • Protects the rights of staff, customers and partners
  • Is open about how it stores and processes individuals’ data
  • pretexts itself from the risk of a data breach

We may change this Policy from time to time so please check this page occasionally to ensure that you’re happy with any changes. By using our website, you’re agreeing to be bound by this Policy.

Data protection law

The Data Protection Act 1998 described how organisations – including Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd – must collect, handle and store personal information. These rules apply regardless of whether data is stored electronically, on paper or on other materials. To comply with the law, personal information collected must be stored safely, not disclosed unlawfully and used fairly.

The Data Protection Act is underpinned by eight important principles. These say that personal data must:

  • Be processed fairly and lawfully
  • Be obtained only for specific, lawful purposes
  • Be adequate, relevant and not excessive
  • Be accurate and kept up to date
  • Not be held for any longer than necessary
  • Processed in accordance with the rights of data subjects
  • Be protected in appropriate ways
  • Not be transferred outside the European Economic Area (EEA), unless that country of territory also ensures an adequate level of protection

How do we collect information from you?

We obtain information about you when you use our website, for example, when you contact us about products and services, when you register for an event, register to receive eNewsletters, subscribe or register for a trial to our GTR magazine/website.

 Types of Personal Data Held and its Use

1.      Customer Services and Administration

On some Sites, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd collects personal data such as your name, job title, department, company, e-mail, phone, work and/or home address, in order to register you for access to certain content, subscriptions and events. In addition, we may also store information including IP address and page analytics, including information regarding what pages are accessed, by whom and when.

This information is used to administer and deliver to you the products and/or services you have requested, to operate our Sites efficiently and improve our service to you, and to retain records of our business transactions and communications. By using the Sites and submitting personal information through the registration process you are agreeing that we may collect, hold, process and use your information (including personal information) for the purpose of providing you with the Site services and developing our business, which shall include (without limitation) the purposes described in the below paragraphs.

2.      Monitoring use of our Sites

Where, as part of our Site services, we enable you to post information or materials on our Site, we may access and monitor any information which you upload or input, including in any password-protected sections. Subject to any necessary consents, we also monitor and/or record the different Sites you visit and actions taken on those Sites, e.g. content viewed or searched for. If you are a registered user (e.g. a subscriber or taking a trial), when you log on, this places a cookie on your machine. This enables your access to content and services that

are not publicly available. Once you are logged on, the actions you take – for example, viewing an article – will be recorded (subject to any necessary consents). We may use technology or a service provider to do this for us. This information may be used for one or more of the following purposes:

  • to fulfil our obligations to you;
  • to improve the efficiency, quality and design of our Sites and services;
  • to see which articles, features and services are most read and used
  • to track compliance with our terms and conditions of use, e.g. to ensure that you are acting within the scope of your user licence;
  • for marketing purposes (subject to your rights to opt-in and opt-out of receiving certain marketing communications) – see paragraph 3 below;
  • for advertising purposes, although the information used for these purposes does not identify you personally. Please see paragraph 5 below for more details;
  • to protect or comply with our legal rights and obligations; and
  • to enable our journalists to contact and interact with you online in connection with any content you may post to our Sites.

Please see paragraph 5 below for more information on cookies and similar technologies and a link to a page where you can turn them on or off.

3.      Marketing

Some of your personal data collected under paragraphs 1 and 2 above may be used by us to contact you by e-mail, telephone and/or post for sending information or promotional material on our products and/or services and/or those of our other group companies.
We give you the opportunity to opt-out of receiving marketing communications. Further detail can be found on the applicable Site and in the footer of each marketing communication sent by us, our group companies or service providers. See also “Consents and opt-outs” section below.
We will not share your information with third parties for marketing purposes.

4.      Profiling

We may analyse your personal information to create a profile of your interests and preferences so that we can contact you with information relevant to you.

5.      Cookies and similar technologies

All our Sites use cookies and similar technical tools to collect information about your access to the Site and the services we provide.

What is a cookie?

When you enter some sites, your computer will be issued with a cookie. Cookies are text files that identify your computer to servers. Cookies in themselves do not identify the individual user, just the computer used.

Many sites do this whenever a user visits their site in order to track traffic flows, recording those areas of the site that have been visited by the computer in question, and for how long.

Users have the opportunity to set their computers to accept all cookies, to notify them when a cookie is issued, or not to receive cookies at any time. Selecting not to receive means that certain personalised services Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd offers cannot then be provided to that user.

 

Why do we use cookies?

  1. Log In – Where we provide log in mechanisms for site users a cookie is created at login and for the duration of the session. Each cookie contains a unique reference number only (no personal information) which is used to confirm you are authorised.
  2. Analytics – To allow us to keep track of traffic to our website we use cookies. The cookies simply tell us if you have previously visited our website so we can get more accurate figures for New vs Returning visitors.

Find and control your cookies

All of the major browser providers offer advice on setting up and using the privacy and security functions for their products. If you require technical advice or support for a specific browser/version please contact the provider or visit their website for further details: www.microsoft.com / www.mozilla.com / www.apple.com
 / www.opera.com / www.aol.com / www.netscape.com
 / www.flock.com / www.google.com

We may use cookies to:

  • remember that you have used the Site before; this means we can identify the number of unique visitors we receive to different parts of the Site. This allows us to make sure we have enough capacity for the number of users that we get and make sure that the Site runs fast enough
  • remember your login session so you can move from one page to another within the Site;
  • store your preferences or your user name and password so that you do not need to input these details every time you visit the Site;
  • customise elements of the layout and/or content of the pages of Site for you;
  • record activity on our Sites so that we understand how you use our Sites enabling us to better tailor our content, services and marketing to your needs;
  • collect statistical information about how you use the Site so that we can improve the Site; and
  • gather information about the pages on the Site that you visit, and other information about other websites that you visit, so as to place you in a “market segment”. This information is only collected by reference to the IP address that you are using, but does include information about the county and city you are in, together with the name of your internet service provider.

Most web browsers automatically accept cookies but, if you prefer, you can change your browser to prevent that, or to notify you each time a cookie is set. You can also learn more about cookies in general by visiting www.allaboutcookies.org which includes additional useful information on cookies and how to block cookies using different types of browser. Please note however, that by blocking, deleting or turning off cookies used on the Site you may not be able to take full advantage of the Site.

6.      E-mail tracking

E-mail tracking is a method for monitoring the e-mail delivery to those subscribers who have opted-in to receive marketing e-mails from GTR, including GTR Africa, GTR Asia, GTR Americas, GTR Europe, GTR Mena, GTR eNews, Third party e-mails and GTR Ventures.

Why do we track e-mails?

So that we can better understand our users’ needs, we track responses, subscription behaviour and engagement to our e-mails – for example, to see which links are the most popular in newsletters. They enable us to understand the consumers journey through metrics including open rate, click-through rate, bounces and unsubscribes. Any other purposes for which Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd wishes to use your personal data will be notified to you and your personal data will not be used for any such purpose without obtaining your prior consent.

How do you track GTR eNewsletters?

To do this, we use pixel GIFs, also known as “pixel tags” – these are small image files that are placed within the body of our e-mail messages. When that image is downloaded from our web servers, the e-mail is recorded as being opened. By using some form of digitally time-stamped record to reveal the exact time and date that an e-mail was received or opened, as well the IP address of the recipient.

7.      Consents and opt-outs

You can give your consent to opt-out of all or any particular uses of your data as indicated above by:

  • Indicating at the point on the relevant Site where personal data is collected
  • Informing us by e-mail, post or phone
  • Updating your preferences on the applicable Site or eNewsletter (unsubscribe and preference options are available in the footer of each eNewsletter)

To turn cookies and similar technologies on and off, see the information in paragraph 5 above. Any questions regarding consents and opt-outs should be sent by e-mail to privacy@gtreview.com or by writing to Data Protection Officer at, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, 4 Hillgate Place, London, SW12 9ER, United Kingdom. Alternatively, you can telephone our London headquarters at +44 (0) 20 8673 9666.

8.      Disclosures

Information collected at one Site may be shared between Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd and other group companies for the purposes listed above.

We may transfer, sell or assign any of the information described in this policy to third parties as a result of a sale, merger, consolidation, change of control, transfer of assets or reorganisation of our business.

9.      Public forums, message boards and blogs

Some of our Sites may have a message board, blogs or other facilities for user generated content available and users can participate in these facilities. Any information that is disclosed in these areas becomes public information and you should always be careful when deciding to disclose your personal information.

10.  Data outside the EEA

Services on the Internet are accessible globally so collection and transmission of personal data is not always limited to one country. Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd may transfer your personal data, for the above-listed purposes to other third parties, which may be located outside the European Economic Area and/or with a different level of personal data protection. However, when conducting transfers, we take all necessary steps to ensure that your data is treated reasonably, securely and in accordance with this Privacy Statement.

Who has access to your information?

Confidentiality and Security of Your Personal Data

We are committed to keeping the data you provide us secure and will take reasonable precautions to protect your personal data from loss, misuse or alteration.

However, the transmission of information via the internet is not completely secure. Although we will do our best to protect your personal data, we cannot guarantee the security of your data transmitted to our Site; any transmission is at your own risk. Once we have received your information, we will use strict procedures and security features described above to try to prevent unauthorised access.

We have implemented information security policies, rules and technical measures to protect the personal data that we have under our control from:

  • unauthorised access
  • improper use or disclosure
  • unauthorised modification
  • unlawful destruction or accidental loss

All our employees, contractors and data processors (i.e. those who process your personal data on our behalf, for the purposes listed above), who have access to, and are associated with the processing of your personal data, are obliged to keep the information confidential and not use it for any other purpose than to carry out the services they are performing for us.

Responsibilities

Everyone who works for or with Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd has some responsibility for ensuring data is collected, stored and handled appropriately. Each team handling personal data must ensure that it is handled and processed in line with this policy and data protection principles. However, the following people have key areas of responsibility. The board of directors is ultimately responsible for ensuring that Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd meets its legal obligations.

Name of Data Controller


The Data Controller is Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd. Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd is subject to the UK Data Protection Act 1998 and is registered in the UK with the Information Commissioner`s Office.

How to access, update and erase your personal information

If you wish to know whether we are keeping personal data about you, or if you have an enquiry about our privacy policy or your personal data held by us, in relation to any of the Sites, you can contact the Data Protection Officer via:

  • By writing to this address: Data Protection Officer, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, 4 Hillgate Place, London, SW12 9ER, UK
  • Telephone: +44 (0) 20 8673 9666
  • E-mail: privacy@gtreview.com

Upon request, we will provide you with a readable copy of the personal data which we keep about you. We may require proof of your identity and may charge a small fee (not exceeding the statutory maximum fee that can be charged) to cover administration and postage.

Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd allows you to challenge the data that we hold about you and, where appropriate in accordance with applicable laws, you may have your personal information:

  • erased
  • rectified or amended
  • completed

Disclosing data for other reasons

In certain circumstances, the Data Protection Act allows personal data to be disclosed to law enforcement agencies without the consent of the data subject. Under these circumstances, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, will disclose requested data. However, the Data Controller will ensure the request is legitimate, seeking assistance from the board and from the company’s legal advisors where necessary.

Changes to this Privacy Statement

We will occasionally update this Privacy Statement to reflect new legislation or industry practice, group company changes and customer feedback. We encourage you to review this Privacy Statement periodically to be informed of how we are protecting your personal data.

Providing information

Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd aims to ensure that individuals are aware that their data is being processed, and that they understand.

  • How the data is being used
  • How to exercise their rights

To this end, the company has a privacy statement, setting out how data relating to individuals is used by the company. This is available on request and available on the company’s website.

Review of this policy

We keep this Policy under regular review. This Privacy Statement was last updated in April 2018.

Already a subscriber? Log in
to update your eNewsletter preferences.