Slider
Webinar
May 27, 2020
10am ET / 15.00 BST
1 Day Event

Following the postponement of GTR US 2020 in Chicago due to the coronavirus (COVID 19) outbreak, this interactive webinar provides the opportunity to reflect on some of the key themes that were due to be covered and consider the implications of the pandemic for US trade and broader economic landscape.

Discussions will seek to encourage maximum engagement between participants, allowing key market stakeholders to have their say and to bring the trade finance community together in these most challenging of times.

 

 

Featured news

How banks are going digital to manage Covid-19

US-China friction persists as politics meddles with Covid-19 supplies

ICC trade register reaffirms trade finance’s low risk profile in face of predicted Covid-related defaults

Programme

Hosted by: Shannon Manders, Editorial Director, GTR

 

Overview: Taking stock of US trade

How are corporates’ trade financing and risk management strategies responding to the crisis? How has trade finance performed in terms of its availability and pricing relative to other sources of credit? What of the credit insurance market’s response to the coronavirus outbreak?

Gary Mendell, President, Meridian Finance Group

Jonathan Richman, Managing Director, Head of US Trade Finance & Working Capital, Santander Corporate & Investing Banking

 

Business as unusual: A new era for the supply chain

What have been the principle pressures placed on supply chains, and how robust have they been found to be? How far has demand for and supply of goods rebounded in markets such as the US, China and EU after initial market shutdowns? Which physical trade bottlenecks are emerging due to restrictions on movement? How are these being overcome?

Anil Sebastian, Director, Devices Supply Chain & Analytics, Microsoft

 

Assessing the need for digitisation: A seminal moment for trade?

How have challenges around the movement of goods and documents impacted physical trade and supply chain financing? To what extent have digital trade finance lines fared better in comparison to traditional documentary transactions in the current climate, and which solutions can be utilised in short order for an immediate boost to business continuation? Could the pandemic act as a catalyst for a cultural shift toward rapid digital adoption?

Alisa DiCaprio, Head of Trade & Supply Chain, R3 CEV

Inwha Huh, Partner, Banking & Financial Markets, IBM Global Business Services

Joon Kim, Global Head, Trade Finance Product & Portfolio Group, Treasury Services, BNY Mellon

 

Panel: Market outlook followed by Q&A

Does trade disruption related to Covid-19 further emphasise the need for more localised, less complicated supply chains? Which challenges are mounting for lenders? Are alternative financiers/ funds experiencing greater demand? Has the pandemic taught us anything about supply chain vulnerabilities – and SCF challenges – we didn’t already know?

Steven Lotito, Head of Trade Finance, North America, Transaction Banking Americas, MUFG Union Bank

Sunil George, Head of Structured Trade Finance, North America, Louis Dreyfus Company

Patricia Gomes, Executive Vice-President, Regional Head, North America, Global Trade & Receivables Finance, HSBC

Gary Mendell

President, Meridian Finance Group

Gary Mendell is President of Meridian Finance Group, a company providing credit, insurance, and trade finance tools that companies use to expand their U.S. and international sales. A graduate of the University of Pennsylvania in 1976, Gary has over 40 years of experience in domestic and international sales, distribution, credit, and finance. Prior to Meridian Finance Group, he held positions managing U.S. and export business development for companies in the pharmaceutical, aerospace, and plastics industries. Gary has received the President’s “E” Award and currently serves on the federal government’s Trade Finance Advisory Council.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T15:54:39+00:00

Gary Mendell is President of Meridian Finance Group, a company providing credit, insurance, and trade finance tools that companies use to expand their U.S. and international sales. A graduate of the University of Pennsylvania in 1976, Gary has over 40 years of experience in domestic and international sales, distribution, credit, and finance. Prior to Meridian Finance Group, he held positions managing U.S. and export business development for companies in the pharmaceutical, aerospace, and plastics industries. Gary has received the President’s “E” Award and currently serves on the federal government’s Trade Finance Advisory Council.

President, Meridian Finance Group
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Jonathan Richman

Managing Director, Head of US Trade Finance & Working Capital, Santander Corporate & Investment Banking

Jonathan Richman currently heads the US Trade and Working Capital business for Santander in the U.S., which includes its Lending, Letter of Credit, Receivables, Supply Chain Finance, and Trade Funding activities. Jon was brought in to help fulfil Santander’s ambitious growth plans for its trade finance business globally and its corporate and investment banking business in the U.S. For the ten years prior to joining Santander, Jon was with Deutsche Bank and held responsibilities that included the running of its trade finance business in the Americas. Jon was also with Standard Chartered Bank for over twenty years, which included senior positions in London and Hong Kong – the most recent of which was as Head of Transaction Banking for North Asia.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T15:56:06+00:00

Jonathan Richman currently heads the US Trade and Working Capital business for Santander in the U.S., which includes its Lending, Letter of Credit, Receivables, Supply Chain Finance, and Trade Funding activities. Jon was brought in to help fulfil Santander’s ambitious growth plans for its trade finance business globally and its corporate and investment banking business in the U.S. For the ten years prior to joining Santander, Jon was with Deutsche Bank and held responsibilities that included the running of its trade finance business in the Americas. Jon was also with Standard Chartered Bank for over twenty years, which included senior positions in London and Hong Kong – the most recent of which was as Head of Transaction Banking for North Asia.

Managing Director, Head of US Trade Finance & Working Capital, Santander Corporate & Investment Banking
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Anil Sebastian

Director, Devices Supply Chain & Analytics, Microsoft

Anil Sebastian has spent most of his career at Microsoft and has helped design the downstream supply chain for products such as Surface and Xbox. He also spent an exciting year at Google's X Research Labs, where he was responsible for developing a logistics and distribution network for Project Glass. Anil received his Bachelor’s degree in Engineering from India before completing his Master’s degree specialising in Supply Chain and Sustainability Studies. Anil is passionate about helping launch products that significantly improve the lives of people.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T15:57:58+00:00

Anil Sebastian has spent most of his career at Microsoft and has helped design the downstream supply chain for products such as Surface and Xbox. He also spent an exciting year at Google's X Research Labs, where he was responsible for developing a logistics and distribution network for Project Glass. Anil received his Bachelor’s degree in Engineering from India before completing his Master’s degree specialising in Supply Chain and Sustainability Studies. Anil is passionate about helping launch products that significantly improve the lives of people.

Director, Devices Supply Chain & Analytics, Microsoft
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Alisa DiCaprio

Head of Trade & Supply Chain, R3 CEV

Alisa DiCaprio is the Head of Trade and Supply Chain at R3 in New York City. In addition to strategy, she also covers trade governance and global standards initiatives. She joined from Asian Development Bank where she was a senior economist working on digital trade, trade finance and innovation. She has also worked in both the public and private sectors on export promotion, trade negotiations, and labor issues. She co-chairs the BAFT Innovation Council and chairs the FinTech working group for the US Department of Commerce’s Trade Finance Advisory Council. She is also co-chair of the ICC Digital Standards Working Group’s engagement committee.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T15:58:25+00:00

Alisa DiCaprio is the Head of Trade and Supply Chain at R3 in New York City. In addition to strategy, she also covers trade governance and global standards initiatives. She joined from Asian Development Bank where she was a senior economist working on digital trade, trade finance and innovation. She has also worked in both the public and private sectors on export promotion, trade negotiations, and labor issues. She co-chairs the BAFT Innovation Council and chairs the FinTech working group for the US Department of Commerce’s Trade Finance Advisory Council. She is also co-chair of the ICC Digital Standards Working Group’s engagement committee.

Head of Trade & Supply Chain, R3 CEV
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Inwha Huh

Partner, Banking & Financial Markets, IBM Global Business Services

Inwha Huh is the Practice Leader for Banking & Financial Markets, Cognitive Process Transformation, covering key areas of transformation across corporate & investment, retail and transaction banking. Prior to joining IBM, she was the EVP & Global Head of Structured Trade Solutions at HSBC based in Hong Kong and was the Head of Global Trade Finance for HSBC North America.  Prior to that, she was at GE Capital where she was the MD, Global Head of Capital Markets & Business Development, Working Capital Solutions. She has also held various leadership positions in syndicated loans at Deutsche Bank and JPM Chase since 1996.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T15:58:57+00:00

Inwha Huh is the Practice Leader for Banking & Financial Markets, Cognitive Process Transformation, covering key areas of transformation across corporate & investment, retail and transaction banking. Prior to joining IBM, she was the EVP & Global Head of Structured Trade Solutions at HSBC based in Hong Kong and was the Head of Global Trade Finance for HSBC North America.  Prior to that, she was at GE Capital where she was the MD, Global Head of Capital Markets & Business Development, Working Capital Solutions. She has also held various leadership positions in syndicated loans at Deutsche Bank and JPM Chase since 1996.

Partner, Banking & Financial Markets, IBM Global Business Services
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Joon Kim

Global Head, Trade Finance Product & Portfolio Group, Treasury Services, BNY Mellon

Joon Kim is the Global Trade Product and Portfolio group manager in the Treasury Services Product Management group. In his current role, Joon is responsible for managing, developing and executing Trade Product and Distribution strategy, working with all Treasury Services Global Market segments and Global Sales organizations to grow revenues and ensure risk and compliance measures are met. Joon has held various senior positions at Standard Chartered Bank and American Express Bank, most recently as Managing Director and Head of Transaction Banking Sales for Corporate and Commodities for the Americas region. His various experiences include leading Trade Sales, Trade Product Management and Relationship Management teams, with an emphasis on development and sales of trade finance, supply chain financing, receivable services, trade processing and cross-border cash and liquidity management solutions to global financial institutions and corporations.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T16:00:14+00:00

Joon Kim is the Global Trade Product and Portfolio group manager in the Treasury Services Product Management group. In his current role, Joon is responsible for managing, developing and executing Trade Product and Distribution strategy, working with all Treasury Services Global Market segments and Global Sales organizations to grow revenues and ensure risk and compliance measures are met. Joon has held various senior positions at Standard Chartered Bank and American Express Bank, most recently as Managing Director and Head of Transaction Banking Sales for Corporate and Commodities for the Americas region. His various experiences include leading Trade Sales, Trade Product Management and Relationship Management teams, with an emphasis on development and sales of trade finance, supply chain financing, receivable services, trade processing and cross-border cash and liquidity management solutions to global financial institutions and corporations.

Global Head, Trade Finance Product & Portfolio Group, Treasury Services, BNY Mellon
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Steven Lotito

Head of Trade Finance, North America, Transaction Banking Americas, MUFG Union Bank

Steven Lotito is Managing Director and Head of Trade Finance in Transaction Banking of the Americas for MUFG Union Bank, N.A.     In his role, he manages the sales and product management organizations responsible for advising the Bank’s client’s in the Corporate, Commercial and Asian Corporate Banking teams in North America navigate some of the most important trade markets by delivering timely information on international markets, bring innovative products to market, provide trade financing solutions, and, risk management strategies.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T16:01:12+00:00

Steven Lotito is Managing Director and Head of Trade Finance in Transaction Banking of the Americas for MUFG Union Bank, N.A.     In his role, he manages the sales and product management organizations responsible for advising the Bank’s client’s in the Corporate, Commercial and Asian Corporate Banking teams in North America navigate some of the most important trade markets by delivering timely information on international markets, bring innovative products to market, provide trade financing solutions, and, risk management strategies.

Head of Trade Finance, North America, Transaction Banking Americas, MUFG Union Bank
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Sunil George

Head of Structured Trade Finance, North America, Louis Dreyfus Company

Sunil George is currently heading the Structured Trade Finance activity of the North American region for Louis Dreyfus Company based in Wilton, Connecticut, USA. Prior to moving to the US in Jan 2016, Sunil had handled and spearheaded various activities such as Trade Finance, Structured trade finance and risk management for Louis Dreyfus Company for their Middle East and African operations based in Dubai. He has been with Louis Dreyfus Company since the beginning of 2009 and has played a vital role in growing and supporting the business operations in the MEA region along with the regional and global team.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T16:02:00+00:00

Sunil George is currently heading the Structured Trade Finance activity of the North American region for Louis Dreyfus Company based in Wilton, Connecticut, USA. Prior to moving to the US in Jan 2016, Sunil had handled and spearheaded various activities such as Trade Finance, Structured trade finance and risk management for Louis Dreyfus Company for their Middle East and African operations based in Dubai. He has been with Louis Dreyfus Company since the beginning of 2009 and has played a vital role in growing and supporting the business operations in the MEA region along with the regional and global team.

Head of Structured Trade Finance, North America, Louis Dreyfus Company
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Patricia Gomes

Executive Vice-President, Regional Head, North America, Global Trade & Receivables Finance, HSBC

Patricia Gomes is Head of Global Trade and Receivables Finance (GTRF), North America for HSBC. In this role, she is responsible for leading and managing the GTRF business across Commercial Banking and Global Banking clients. With 20 years of experience in banking, Patricia joined GTRF from the Financial Institutions Group (FIG), a line of business within HSBC’s Global Banking and Markets division, where she was Head of North America. Patricia is a member of the Board of Directors for the Bankers Association for Finance and Trade (BAFT) and sits on the BAFT Global Trade Industry Council.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T16:02:29+00:00

Patricia Gomes is Head of Global Trade and Receivables Finance (GTRF), North America for HSBC. In this role, she is responsible for leading and managing the GTRF business across Commercial Banking and Global Banking clients. With 20 years of experience in banking, Patricia joined GTRF from the Financial Institutions Group (FIG), a line of business within HSBC’s Global Banking and Markets division, where she was Head of North America. Patricia is a member of the Board of Directors for the Bankers Association for Finance and Trade (BAFT) and sits on the BAFT Global Trade Industry Council.

Executive Vice-President, Regional Head, North America, Global Trade & Receivables Finance, HSBC
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Shannon Manders

Editorial Director, Global Trade Review (GTR)

Shannon Manders is the Editor of GTR magazine, the world's leading international trade finance magazine. She has extensive experience in moderating discussions, both at GTR’s own conferences and also at a range of other industry events hosted by the likes of the ICC, IFC and SWIFT (Sibos). She also regularly covers stories from international locations, and has hosted numerous roundtable discussions and webinars. Shannon completed her degree in South Africa, and worked in the publishing industry there for five years before joining GTR in January 2009.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2020-05-14T15:51:59+00:00

Shannon Manders is the Editor of GTR magazine, the world's leading international trade finance magazine. She has extensive experience in moderating discussions, both at GTR’s own conferences and also at a range of other industry events hosted by the likes of the ICC, IFC and SWIFT (Sibos). She also regularly covers stories from international locations, and has hosted numerous roundtable discussions and webinars. Shannon completed her degree in South Africa, and worked in the publishing industry there for five years before joining GTR in January 2009.

Editorial Director, Global Trade Review (GTR)
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)
Slider

Address: Free, Webinar

Telephone/Fax:

Website:

SPEAKING OPPORTUNITIES

Conference Production

Email: George Mitchell at gmitchell@gtreview.com

MARKETING/MEDIA OPPORTUNITIES

Marketing Manager

Email: Elisabeth Spry at espry@gtreview.com

Sorry, this event has now expired and is no longer bookable.

Privacy Policy

Our privacy commitments

This Privacy Policy outlines the information we may collect about you in relation to your use of our websites, events, related publications and services (“personal data”) and how we may use that personal data. It also outlines the methods by which we and our service providers may (subject to necessary consents) monitor your online behaviour to deliver customised advertisements, marketing materials and other tailored services. This Privacy Policy also tells you how you can verify the accuracy of your personal data and how you can request that we delete or update it.

This Privacy Policy applies to all websites operated by Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd (as indicated on the relevant website).

This privacy statement does not cover the activities of third parties, and you should consult those third-party sites’ privacy policies for information on how your data is used by them.

Any questions regarding this Policy and our privacy practices should be sent by e-mail to privacy@gtreview.com or by writing to Data Protection Officer at, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, 4 Hillgate Place, London, SW12 9ER, United Kingdom. Alternatively, you can telephone our London headquarters at +44 (0) 20 8673 9666.

Who are we?

Established in 2002 and with offices in London and Singapore, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd is the world’s leading trade and trade finance media company, offering information, news, events and services for companies and individuals involved in global trade.

Our principal business activities are:

  • Business-to-Business financial publishing. We provide a range of products and services focused on international commodities, export, supply chain and trade finance markets including magazines, newsletters, electronic information and data
  • Organisers of seminars, conferences, training courses and exhibitions for the finance industry

Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd is a company registered in the United Kingdom with company number 4407327 | VAT Registration: 799 1585 59

Data Protection Policy

This Data Protection Policy explains when and why we collect personal information about people who visit our website, how we use it, the conditions under which we may disclose it to others and how we keep it secure.

Why do we collect information from you?

Our primary goal in collecting personal data from you is to give you an enjoyable customised experience whilst allowing us to provide services and features that will meet your needs.
We collect certain personal data from you, which you give to us when using our Site and/or registering or subscribing for our products and services. However, we also give you the option to access our Sites’ home pages without subscribing or registering or disclosing your personal data.

We also collect certain personal data from other group companies to whom you have given information through their websites (including, by way of example, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd and subsidiaries, in accordance with the purposes listed below). Should we discover that any such personal data has been delivered to any of the Sites, we will remove that information as soon as possible.

Why this policy exists

This Data Protection Policy ensures Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd:

  • Complies with data protection law and follow good practice
  • Protects the rights of staff, customers and partners
  • Is open about how it stores and processes individuals’ data
  • pretexts itself from the risk of a data breach

We may change this Policy from time to time so please check this page occasionally to ensure that you’re happy with any changes. By using our website, you’re agreeing to be bound by this Policy.

Data protection law

The Data Protection Act 1998 described how organisations – including Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd – must collect, handle and store personal information. These rules apply regardless of whether data is stored electronically, on paper or on other materials. To comply with the law, personal information collected must be stored safely, not disclosed unlawfully and used fairly.

The Data Protection Act is underpinned by eight important principles. These say that personal data must:

  • Be processed fairly and lawfully
  • Be obtained only for specific, lawful purposes
  • Be adequate, relevant and not excessive
  • Be accurate and kept up to date
  • Not be held for any longer than necessary
  • Processed in accordance with the rights of data subjects
  • Be protected in appropriate ways
  • Not be transferred outside the European Economic Area (EEA), unless that country of territory also ensures an adequate level of protection

How do we collect information from you?

We obtain information about you when you use our website, for example, when you contact us about products and services, when you register for an event, register to receive eNewsletters, subscribe or register for a trial to our GTR magazine/website.

 Types of Personal Data Held and its Use

1.      Customer Services and Administration

On some Sites, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd collects personal data such as your name, job title, department, company, e-mail, phone, work and/or home address, in order to register you for access to certain content, subscriptions and events. In addition, we may also store information including IP address and page analytics, including information regarding what pages are accessed, by whom and when.

This information is used to administer and deliver to you the products and/or services you have requested, to operate our Sites efficiently and improve our service to you, and to retain records of our business transactions and communications. By using the Sites and submitting personal information through the registration process you are agreeing that we may collect, hold, process and use your information (including personal information) for the purpose of providing you with the Site services and developing our business, which shall include (without limitation) the purposes described in the below paragraphs.

2.      Monitoring use of our Sites

Where, as part of our Site services, we enable you to post information or materials on our Site, we may access and monitor any information which you upload or input, including in any password-protected sections. Subject to any necessary consents, we also monitor and/or record the different Sites you visit and actions taken on those Sites, e.g. content viewed or searched for. If you are a registered user (e.g. a subscriber or taking a trial), when you log on, this places a cookie on your machine. This enables your access to content and services that

are not publicly available. Once you are logged on, the actions you take – for example, viewing an article – will be recorded (subject to any necessary consents). We may use technology or a service provider to do this for us. This information may be used for one or more of the following purposes:

  • to fulfil our obligations to you;
  • to improve the efficiency, quality and design of our Sites and services;
  • to see which articles, features and services are most read and used
  • to track compliance with our terms and conditions of use, e.g. to ensure that you are acting within the scope of your user licence;
  • for marketing purposes (subject to your rights to opt-in and opt-out of receiving certain marketing communications) – see paragraph 3 below;
  • for advertising purposes, although the information used for these purposes does not identify you personally. Please see paragraph 5 below for more details;
  • to protect or comply with our legal rights and obligations; and
  • to enable our journalists to contact and interact with you online in connection with any content you may post to our Sites.

Please see paragraph 5 below for more information on cookies and similar technologies and a link to a page where you can turn them on or off.

3.      Marketing

Some of your personal data collected under paragraphs 1 and 2 above may be used by us to contact you by e-mail, telephone and/or post for sending information or promotional material on our products and/or services and/or those of our other group companies.
We give you the opportunity to opt-out of receiving marketing communications. Further detail can be found on the applicable Site and in the footer of each marketing communication sent by us, our group companies or service providers. See also “Consents and opt-outs” section below.
We will not share your information with third parties for marketing purposes.

4.      Profiling

We may analyse your personal information to create a profile of your interests and preferences so that we can contact you with information relevant to you.

5.      Cookies and similar technologies

All our Sites use cookies and similar technical tools to collect information about your access to the Site and the services we provide.

What is a cookie?

When you enter some sites, your computer will be issued with a cookie. Cookies are text files that identify your computer to servers. Cookies in themselves do not identify the individual user, just the computer used.

Many sites do this whenever a user visits their site in order to track traffic flows, recording those areas of the site that have been visited by the computer in question, and for how long.

Users have the opportunity to set their computers to accept all cookies, to notify them when a cookie is issued, or not to receive cookies at any time. Selecting not to receive means that certain personalised services Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd offers cannot then be provided to that user.

 

Why do we use cookies?

  1. Log In – Where we provide log in mechanisms for site users a cookie is created at login and for the duration of the session. Each cookie contains a unique reference number only (no personal information) which is used to confirm you are authorised.
  2. Analytics – To allow us to keep track of traffic to our website we use cookies. The cookies simply tell us if you have previously visited our website so we can get more accurate figures for New vs Returning visitors.

Find and control your cookies

All of the major browser providers offer advice on setting up and using the privacy and security functions for their products. If you require technical advice or support for a specific browser/version please contact the provider or visit their website for further details: www.microsoft.com / www.mozilla.com / www.apple.com
 / www.opera.com / www.aol.com / www.netscape.com
 / www.flock.com / www.google.com

We may use cookies to:

  • remember that you have used the Site before; this means we can identify the number of unique visitors we receive to different parts of the Site. This allows us to make sure we have enough capacity for the number of users that we get and make sure that the Site runs fast enough
  • remember your login session so you can move from one page to another within the Site;
  • store your preferences or your user name and password so that you do not need to input these details every time you visit the Site;
  • customise elements of the layout and/or content of the pages of Site for you;
  • record activity on our Sites so that we understand how you use our Sites enabling us to better tailor our content, services and marketing to your needs;
  • collect statistical information about how you use the Site so that we can improve the Site; and
  • gather information about the pages on the Site that you visit, and other information about other websites that you visit, so as to place you in a “market segment”. This information is only collected by reference to the IP address that you are using, but does include information about the county and city you are in, together with the name of your internet service provider.

Most web browsers automatically accept cookies but, if you prefer, you can change your browser to prevent that, or to notify you each time a cookie is set. You can also learn more about cookies in general by visiting www.allaboutcookies.org which includes additional useful information on cookies and how to block cookies using different types of browser. Please note however, that by blocking, deleting or turning off cookies used on the Site you may not be able to take full advantage of the Site.

6.      E-mail tracking

E-mail tracking is a method for monitoring the e-mail delivery to those subscribers who have opted-in to receive marketing e-mails from GTR, including GTR Africa, GTR Asia, GTR Americas, GTR Europe, GTR Mena, GTR eNews, Third party e-mails and GTR Ventures.

Why do we track e-mails?

So that we can better understand our users’ needs, we track responses, subscription behaviour and engagement to our e-mails – for example, to see which links are the most popular in newsletters. They enable us to understand the consumers journey through metrics including open rate, click-through rate, bounces and unsubscribes. Any other purposes for which Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd wishes to use your personal data will be notified to you and your personal data will not be used for any such purpose without obtaining your prior consent.

How do you track GTR eNewsletters?

To do this, we use pixel GIFs, also known as “pixel tags” – these are small image files that are placed within the body of our e-mail messages. When that image is downloaded from our web servers, the e-mail is recorded as being opened. By using some form of digitally time-stamped record to reveal the exact time and date that an e-mail was received or opened, as well the IP address of the recipient.

7.      Consents and opt-outs

You can give your consent to opt-out of all or any particular uses of your data as indicated above by:

  • Indicating at the point on the relevant Site where personal data is collected
  • Informing us by e-mail, post or phone
  • Updating your preferences on the applicable Site or eNewsletter (unsubscribe and preference options are available in the footer of each eNewsletter)

To turn cookies and similar technologies on and off, see the information in paragraph 5 above. Any questions regarding consents and opt-outs should be sent by e-mail to privacy@gtreview.com or by writing to Data Protection Officer at, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, 4 Hillgate Place, London, SW12 9ER, United Kingdom. Alternatively, you can telephone our London headquarters at +44 (0) 20 8673 9666.

8.      Disclosures

Information collected at one Site may be shared between Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd and other group companies for the purposes listed above.

We may transfer, sell or assign any of the information described in this policy to third parties as a result of a sale, merger, consolidation, change of control, transfer of assets or reorganisation of our business.

9.      Public forums, message boards and blogs

Some of our Sites may have a message board, blogs or other facilities for user generated content available and users can participate in these facilities. Any information that is disclosed in these areas becomes public information and you should always be careful when deciding to disclose your personal information.

10.  Data outside the EEA

Services on the Internet are accessible globally so collection and transmission of personal data is not always limited to one country. Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd may transfer your personal data, for the above-listed purposes to other third parties, which may be located outside the European Economic Area and/or with a different level of personal data protection. However, when conducting transfers, we take all necessary steps to ensure that your data is treated reasonably, securely and in accordance with this Privacy Statement.

Who has access to your information?

Confidentiality and Security of Your Personal Data

We are committed to keeping the data you provide us secure and will take reasonable precautions to protect your personal data from loss, misuse or alteration.

However, the transmission of information via the internet is not completely secure. Although we will do our best to protect your personal data, we cannot guarantee the security of your data transmitted to our Site; any transmission is at your own risk. Once we have received your information, we will use strict procedures and security features described above to try to prevent unauthorised access.

We have implemented information security policies, rules and technical measures to protect the personal data that we have under our control from:

  • unauthorised access
  • improper use or disclosure
  • unauthorised modification
  • unlawful destruction or accidental loss

All our employees, contractors and data processors (i.e. those who process your personal data on our behalf, for the purposes listed above), who have access to, and are associated with the processing of your personal data, are obliged to keep the information confidential and not use it for any other purpose than to carry out the services they are performing for us.

Responsibilities

Everyone who works for or with Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd has some responsibility for ensuring data is collected, stored and handled appropriately. Each team handling personal data must ensure that it is handled and processed in line with this policy and data protection principles. However, the following people have key areas of responsibility. The board of directors is ultimately responsible for ensuring that Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd meets its legal obligations.

Name of Data Controller


The Data Controller is Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd. Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd is subject to the UK Data Protection Act 1998 and is registered in the UK with the Information Commissioner`s Office.

How to access, update and erase your personal information

If you wish to know whether we are keeping personal data about you, or if you have an enquiry about our privacy policy or your personal data held by us, in relation to any of the Sites, you can contact the Data Protection Officer via:

  • By writing to this address: Data Protection Officer, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, 4 Hillgate Place, London, SW12 9ER, UK
  • Telephone: +44 (0) 20 8673 9666
  • E-mail: privacy@gtreview.com

Upon request, we will provide you with a readable copy of the personal data which we keep about you. We may require proof of your identity and may charge a small fee (not exceeding the statutory maximum fee that can be charged) to cover administration and postage.

Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd allows you to challenge the data that we hold about you and, where appropriate in accordance with applicable laws, you may have your personal information:

  • erased
  • rectified or amended
  • completed

Disclosing data for other reasons

In certain circumstances, the Data Protection Act allows personal data to be disclosed to law enforcement agencies without the consent of the data subject. Under these circumstances, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, will disclose requested data. However, the Data Controller will ensure the request is legitimate, seeking assistance from the board and from the company’s legal advisors where necessary.

Changes to this Privacy Statement

We will occasionally update this Privacy Statement to reflect new legislation or industry practice, group company changes and customer feedback. We encourage you to review this Privacy Statement periodically to be informed of how we are protecting your personal data.

Providing information

Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd aims to ensure that individuals are aware that their data is being processed, and that they understand.

  • How the data is being used
  • How to exercise their rights

To this end, the company has a privacy statement, setting out how data relating to individuals is used by the company. This is available on request and available on the company’s website.

Review of this policy

We keep this Policy under regular review. This Privacy Statement was last updated in April 2018.

Already a subscriber? Log in
to update your eNewsletter preferences.