Slider
Webinar
May 05, 2021
1 Day Event

GTR Webinar: Trade Finance Funds 2021
Wednesday, May 5, 2021
15.00-16.40 BST

The trend towards increased use of non-bank finance has been ongoing and only exacerbated by recent events, whether it’s ongoing financial stresses faced by companies and SMEs in particular, regulatory constraints and high-profile cases of fraud leading to bank derisking and in some cases retrenchment, or the myriad offerings available in the market – often boosted by technology – from what has become a thriving alternative finance sector. This webinar will delve deeper into how trade finance funds, with various areas of focus and adhering to various models, have become increasingly central, as well as considering investor appeal and the role of technology in creating an accessible marketplace.

 

#GTRWEBINAR

Join the LinkedIn event

Introduction

The trend towards increased use of non-bank finance has been ongoing and only exacerbated by recent events, whether it’s ongoing financial stresses faced by companies and SMEs in particular, regulatory constraints and high-profile cases of fraud leading to bank derisking and in some cases retrenchment, or the myriad offerings available in the market – often boosted by technology – from what has become a thriving alternative finance sector. This webinar will delve deeper into how trade finance funds, with various areas of focus and adhering to various models, have become increasingly central, as well as considering investor appeal and the role of technology in creating an accessible marketplace.

Host: Jeff Ando, Director, Content & Production, Global Trade Review (GTR)

 

Are trade finance funds now mainstream?

The term ‘trade finance fund’ covers a range of company models, from providing working capital loans, to trade receivables, to impact investing. But what defines and decides individual objectives, and what does that selection mean for a fund’s risk profile when implementing its strategies? Should funds target borrower and investor bases, or allow them to evolve organically? How collaborative is the market when it comes to entering into ‘club deals’ and what is the considered role of the banks in this new ecosystem? What have been the key challenges to overcome over the past 18 months and which are looming on the horizon?

Moderator: Aidan Applegarth, Managing Director, Bankingwise

David Frye, Chief Executive Officer, Levantor

Dave Skirzenski, Chief Executive Officer, Raistone Capital

Ulla Fetzer, Client Portfolio Manager, NN Investment Partners

 

The investor perspective

With ever increasing need for greater and more diverse participation in the provision of trade finance, much has been made of the importance of attracting institutional investors to fill the gap. But what attracts investors to trade finance as an asset class? Are they purely motivated by yield or is ESG playing a greater role as a motivating factor at a time of reduced bank appetite? How strong is investor understanding of the risk profile of trade finance and what are the major benefits of the sector? What could be improved to increase investment levels, whether it’s attracting more investors or bringing in a greater share of the existing investor purse? How important is it to place trade finance into perspective alongside other asset classes?

Moderator: Shannon Manders, Editorial Director, Global Trade Review (GTR)

Martin Opfermann, CFA, Senior Portfolio Manager, Allianz

Dale Galvin, Founder & CEO, Deliberate Capital

Daouii Abouchere, Head of ESG & Sustainable Finance, Channel Capital Advisors

 

How can investors access bank-originated trade finance portfolios?

Commercial banks are looking to transfer balance sheet risk beyond traditional channels, which have tended to consist of fellow banks and insurance carriers. Meanwhile, institutional investors are interested in accessing a low risk, short-term asset class but it has still been traditionally challenging for non-bank financial institutions to access trade finance portfolios from commercial banks. What are the technological requirements to create an active bank distribution market? What are the investor reporting requirements? What level of risk transparency is required?

Moderator: Christoph Gugelmann, Founder & CEO, Tradeteq

Mead Welles, President & CEO, Octagon Asset Management

Marilyn Blattner-Hoyle, Global Head of Trade Finance, AIG

Bertrand de Comminges, Managing Director, Global Head Trade Finance Investments & Global Investment, Santander Asset Management

 

Closing panel summary and audience Q&A

This closing segment will provide a final summary on the key issues impacting the world of trade finance funds, from reporting standards to valuations, liquidity levels, scalability and the potential impact of the Greensill collapse on investor appetite. It will also run through any questions posed by the audience throughout the course of the webinar, seeking to provide a follow-up action plan on steps the industry can take to promote itself.

Ian Henderson, Chief Investment Officer, Artis Finance

Federica Sambiase, Partner & Chief Executive Officer, Working Capital Associates

Jason Barrass, Chief Commercial Officer, Arc Ratings Agency

 

David Frye

Chief Executive Officer, Levantor

David has 20 years’ experience in delivering short-term trade and working capital assets to institutional investors. Before joining Levantor in 2017, David led Citi’s sales finance business in London, which originated sales finance transactions for sale to investors. His prior experience also includes origination and distribution for State Street’s asset backed commercial paper conduits in the Americas and Europe and advising financial institutions as a McKinsey consultant.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T15:56:51+00:00

David has 20 years’ experience in delivering short-term trade and working capital assets to institutional investors. Before joining Levantor in 2017, David led Citi’s sales finance business in London, which originated sales finance transactions for sale to investors. His prior experience also includes origination and distribution for State Street’s asset backed commercial paper conduits in the Americas and Europe and advising financial institutions as a McKinsey consultant.

Chief Executive Officer, Levantor
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Dave Skirzenski

Chief Executive Officer, Raistone Capital

Dave is responsible for managing all facets of the business, including strategy, operations, product innovation and the firm’s go-to-market platforms. Dave is focused on helping companies achieve their vision and orienting them towards action. Dave has more than 20 years of experience building and operating fintechs around the world, and has managed core development teams that both launched and innovated software platforms. Dave began his time in the financial technology space at Morgan Stanley and then Citibank, the latter as North American Head of Supplier Finance.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T15:58:00+00:00

Dave is responsible for managing all facets of the business, including strategy, operations, product innovation and the firm’s go-to-market platforms. Dave is focused on helping companies achieve their vision and orienting them towards action. Dave has more than 20 years of experience building and operating fintechs around the world, and has managed core development teams that both launched and innovated software platforms. Dave began his time in the financial technology space at Morgan Stanley and then Citibank, the latter as North American Head of Supplier Finance.

Chief Executive Officer, Raistone Capital
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Ulla Fetzer

Client Portfolio Manager, NN Investment Partners

Ulla is a Client Portfolio Manager in the alternative credit team of NN Investment Partners. She is responsible for maximising the commercial success of the alternative credit strategies through attracting and retaining clients in partnerships with sales, marketing and product management. As CPM, Ulla has a bridging function between the investment engine, clients, client teams and distribution channels.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-04-14T09:20:21+00:00

Ulla is a Client Portfolio Manager in the alternative credit team of NN Investment Partners. She is responsible for maximising the commercial success of the alternative credit strategies through attracting and retaining clients in partnerships with sales, marketing and product management. As CPM, Ulla has a bridging function between the investment engine, clients, client teams and distribution channels.

Client Portfolio Manager, NN Investment Partners
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Aidan Applegarth

Managing Director, Bankingwise

Aidan has been active in trade and commodity finance markets since 1980, building up related banking businesses for the likes of HSBC, Barclays, ABN Amro and UBS, and more recently as a consultant providing professional guidance, training and thought leadership. Aidan presently offers management consulting to the trade and financial services industry through Bankingwise Limited covering strategy, risk and operations, with a niche covering all aspects of trade and commodity finance. He is an advisor to various alternative credit funds operating in the trade and commodity finance space.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T15:58:39+00:00

Aidan has been active in trade and commodity finance markets since 1980, building up related banking businesses for the likes of HSBC, Barclays, ABN Amro and UBS, and more recently as a consultant providing professional guidance, training and thought leadership. Aidan presently offers management consulting to the trade and financial services industry through Bankingwise Limited covering strategy, risk and operations, with a niche covering all aspects of trade and commodity finance. He is an advisor to various alternative credit funds operating in the trade and commodity finance space.

Managing Director, Bankingwise
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Martin Opfermann

CFA, Senior Portfolio Manager, Allianz

Martin Opfermann is a senior portfolio manager within Allianz Global Investors alternative asset management team and is leading the firm’s trade finance activities. Martin joined the firm in 2017 from Allianz Investment Management SE, where he was Head of Credit and in charge of Allianz Group’s credit allocation. In 2009, he spearheaded Allianz’s strategic shift into private markets and executed several debt investment strategies. Prior to this, Martin worked in the Fixed Income team of Allianz Lebensversicherungs-AG.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T16:00:19+00:00

Martin Opfermann is a senior portfolio manager within Allianz Global Investors alternative asset management team and is leading the firm’s trade finance activities. Martin joined the firm in 2017 from Allianz Investment Management SE, where he was Head of Credit and in charge of Allianz Group’s credit allocation. In 2009, he spearheaded Allianz’s strategic shift into private markets and executed several debt investment strategies. Prior to this, Martin worked in the Fixed Income team of Allianz Lebensversicherungs-AG.

CFA, Senior Portfolio Manager, Allianz
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Dale Galvin

Founder & CEO, Deliberate Capital

Dale is Founder and CEO of Deliberate Capital, an impact investment manager and sustainable finance advisory group created to help solve critical development challenges through the conscientious and intentional deployment of capital along with value-added services. Prior to founding Deliberate Capital, Dale was COO and created the conservation finance group at Rare, an international NGO focusing on scaling solutions that benefit people and nature. Dale also has worked in a variety of consulting and financial services firms, and was CEO of two start-ups.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T16:21:35+00:00

Dale is Founder and CEO of Deliberate Capital, an impact investment manager and sustainable finance advisory group created to help solve critical development challenges through the conscientious and intentional deployment of capital along with value-added services. Prior to founding Deliberate Capital, Dale was COO and created the conservation finance group at Rare, an international NGO focusing on scaling solutions that benefit people and nature. Dale also has worked in a variety of consulting and financial services firms, and was CEO of two start-ups.

Founder & CEO, Deliberate Capital
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Daouii Abouchere

Head of ESG & Sustainable Finance, Channel Capital Advisors

Daouii is Head of ESG and Sustainable Finance at Channel. In her role, Abouchere is responsible for implementing Channel’s ESG framework and driving the sustainable finance strategy across the Group, working with clients to develop and execute new ESG and sustainable financing solutions. Daouii is a member of the World Economic Forum, Royal Society of Arts, and is a Senior Advisor at the International Economic Forum of the Americas.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T16:22:23+00:00

Daouii is Head of ESG and Sustainable Finance at Channel. In her role, Abouchere is responsible for implementing Channel’s ESG framework and driving the sustainable finance strategy across the Group, working with clients to develop and execute new ESG and sustainable financing solutions. Daouii is a member of the World Economic Forum, Royal Society of Arts, and is a Senior Advisor at the International Economic Forum of the Americas.

Head of ESG & Sustainable Finance, Channel Capital Advisors
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Shannon Manders

Editorial Director, Global Trade Review (GTR)

Shannon is the Editorial Director of GTR, the world's leading international trade finance publication. She is also a freelance financial journalist, editor and consultant with 12 years of experience reporting on and producing print and online publications for the global trade and trade finance sector. Shannon has extensive experience in moderating discussions, both at GTR’s own conferences and at a range of other top industry events. She regularly covers stories from international locations, and has hosted numerous roundtable discussions and webinars.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T16:24:37+00:00

Shannon is the Editorial Director of GTR, the world's leading international trade finance publication. She is also a freelance financial journalist, editor and consultant with 12 years of experience reporting on and producing print and online publications for the global trade and trade finance sector. Shannon has extensive experience in moderating discussions, both at GTR’s own conferences and at a range of other top industry events. She regularly covers stories from international locations, and has hosted numerous roundtable discussions and webinars.

Editorial Director, Global Trade Review (GTR)
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Mead Welles

President & CEO, Octagon Asset Management

Mead has unique experience in trade and commodity finance, emerging market fixed income asset management, and emerging market structured finance. He is the Founder, Chief Executive Officer and Head Portfolio Manager at Octagon Asset Management, a niche asset manager that specialises in structured trade and commodity finance, which launched in 1997. Prior to Octagon, Mead worked at Cargill Financial Services International as one of the original members of the emerging markets, trade and structured finance group.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T16:41:06+00:00

Mead has unique experience in trade and commodity finance, emerging market fixed income asset management, and emerging market structured finance. He is the Founder, Chief Executive Officer and Head Portfolio Manager at Octagon Asset Management, a niche asset manager that specialises in structured trade and commodity finance, which launched in 1997. Prior to Octagon, Mead worked at Cargill Financial Services International as one of the original members of the emerging markets, trade and structured finance group.

President & CEO, Octagon Asset Management
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Marilyn Blattner-Hoyle

Global Head of Trade Finance, AIG

Marilyn is the Global Head of Trade Finance for AIG and in that role also leads the development of new products including portfolio solutions enhanced by data for bank and alternative investors, Basel/capital risk mitigation solutions and trade finance-related technology applications. Marilyn joined AIG in 2015, having previously worked as a lawyer in the international banking and finance practice for global law firm Hogan Lovells in London and New York, where she serviced numerous bank clients as well as corporates.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-04-12T07:52:43+00:00

Marilyn is the Global Head of Trade Finance for AIG and in that role also leads the development of new products including portfolio solutions enhanced by data for bank and alternative investors, Basel/capital risk mitigation solutions and trade finance-related technology applications. Marilyn joined AIG in 2015, having previously worked as a lawyer in the international banking and finance practice for global law firm Hogan Lovells in London and New York, where she serviced numerous bank clients as well as corporates.

Global Head of Trade Finance, AIG
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Bertrand De Comminges

Managing Director, Global Head Trade Finance Investments & Global Investment, Santander Asset Management

A renowned industry expert, Bertrand is currently the lead portfolio manager for the global trade finance strategy at Santander Asset Management. Before joining Santander, Bertrand was for 8 years at HSBC, responsible for European business development activities for Global Trade & Receivables Finance. Bertrand is a member of the ICC’s Banking Commission Steering Committee for transforming trade finance as an asset class, and a subject matter expert in the ICC’s Global Supply Chain Finance initiative.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-04-07T11:19:23+00:00

A renowned industry expert, Bertrand is currently the lead portfolio manager for the global trade finance strategy at Santander Asset Management. Before joining Santander, Bertrand was for 8 years at HSBC, responsible for European business development activities for Global Trade & Receivables Finance. Bertrand is a member of the ICC’s Banking Commission Steering Committee for transforming trade finance as an asset class, and a subject matter expert in the ICC’s Global Supply Chain Finance initiative.

Managing Director, Global Head Trade Finance Investments & Global Investment, Santander Asset Management
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Christoph Gugelmann

Founder & CEO, Tradeteq

Christoph is Co-Founder and CEO of Tradeteq. He previously was a portfolio manager at the Trafigura-owned Galena Asset Management in Geneva. Prior to that he was a managing director at Bank of America Merrill Lynch where he headed all public and private side market solutions teams for Europe, Middle East and Africa. Prior to that he held various management positions at Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley in London, Frankfurt, and New York. He graduated in finance and business administration from the University of St. Gallen, Switzerland, in 1996.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T16:25:09+00:00

Christoph is Co-Founder and CEO of Tradeteq. He previously was a portfolio manager at the Trafigura-owned Galena Asset Management in Geneva. Prior to that he was a managing director at Bank of America Merrill Lynch where he headed all public and private side market solutions teams for Europe, Middle East and Africa. Prior to that he held various management positions at Goldman Sachs and Morgan Stanley in London, Frankfurt, and New York. He graduated in finance and business administration from the University of St. Gallen, Switzerland, in 1996.

Founder & CEO, Tradeteq
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Ian Henderson

Chief Investment Officer, Artis Finance

Ian has been involved in all aspects of international finance for over 30 years including banking, corporate finance, insurance and asset management. Ian has covered global and emerging markets in origination, structured trade & commodity finance, syndications, asset management & portfolio management, credit risk, asset valuation and asset recovery/ restructuring across all commodity groups, financial institutions  and industrial sectors. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Witwatersrand, South Africa and the Islamic Finance Qualification.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T16:41:45+00:00

Ian has been involved in all aspects of international finance for over 30 years including banking, corporate finance, insurance and asset management. Ian has covered global and emerging markets in origination, structured trade & commodity finance, syndications, asset management & portfolio management, credit risk, asset valuation and asset recovery/ restructuring across all commodity groups, financial institutions  and industrial sectors. He holds a Bachelor of Commerce from the University of Witwatersrand, South Africa and the Islamic Finance Qualification.

Chief Investment Officer, Artis Finance
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Federica Sambiase

Partner & Chief Executive Officer, Working Capital Associates

Federica is a senior banking and finance professional with 20+ years’ experience in originating, advising and structuring corporate and trade finance solutions for global clients. Before WCA, Federica was in Citigroup for nearly 10 years, with her most recent role as Regional Cluster Head for the entire Citigroup suite of trade finance services and solutions for multinational clients. Before Citigroup, Federica worked for global FIs both in advisory and principal roles, after starting her career as a corporate and capital markets lawyer with Magic Circle law firms.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T16:42:19+00:00

Federica is a senior banking and finance professional with 20+ years’ experience in originating, advising and structuring corporate and trade finance solutions for global clients. Before WCA, Federica was in Citigroup for nearly 10 years, with her most recent role as Regional Cluster Head for the entire Citigroup suite of trade finance services and solutions for multinational clients. Before Citigroup, Federica worked for global FIs both in advisory and principal roles, after starting her career as a corporate and capital markets lawyer with Magic Circle law firms.

Partner & Chief Executive Officer, Working Capital Associates
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Jason Barrass

Chief Commercial Officer, Arc Ratings Agency

Jason is the Chief Commercial Officer of Arc Ratings Agency based in the UK. Having spent his career facilitating trade finance with banks, Jason has joined Arc to build out the structured finance rating business. Of particular interest is to bring subject matter expertise to the trade finance asset class to help restore confidence and facilitate liquidity in this sector.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-04-07T11:21:28+00:00

Jason is the Chief Commercial Officer of Arc Ratings Agency based in the UK. Having spent his career facilitating trade finance with banks, Jason has joined Arc to build out the structured finance rating business. Of particular interest is to bring subject matter expertise to the trade finance asset class to help restore confidence and facilitate liquidity in this sector.

Chief Commercial Officer, Arc Ratings Agency
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Jeff Ando

Director, Content & Production, Global Trade Review (GTR)

Jeff is an experienced events professional with nearly 20 years' media industry experience, having joined GTR in 2009. In his role he is responsible for the output of all GTR conferences, seminars and online event content across the company's global portfolio, as well as playing a key role in wider external communications strategy and planning. Jeff also conducts external consultancy and advisory work on behalf of organisations including the ICC Banking Commission and Coriolis Technologies.

Global Trade Review (GTR)
2021-03-29T16:43:29+00:00

Jeff is an experienced events professional with nearly 20 years' media industry experience, having joined GTR in 2009. In his role he is responsible for the output of all GTR conferences, seminars and online event content across the company's global portfolio, as well as playing a key role in wider external communications strategy and planning. Jeff also conducts external consultancy and advisory work on behalf of organisations including the ICC Banking Commission and Coriolis Technologies.

Director, Content & Production, Global Trade Review (GTR)
0
Global Trade Review (GTR)

Slider

Address: 15.00-16.40 BST, Webinar

Telephone/Fax:

Website:

AGENDA QUERIES

Director, Conference Production

Email: Jeff Ando at jando@gtreview.com

BOOKING QUERIES

Email: Booking Team at salesteam@gtreview.com

MARKETING QUERIES

Email: Marketing Team at marketing@gtreview.com


Already registered?

Register




A lowercase letter

A capital (uppercase) letter

A number

Minimum 8 characters


Africa
APAC
Americas
Europe
MENA
Subscribe to the weekly GTR enews
3rd Party News
GTR Ventures

Note: You may unsubscribe at any time by updating your preferences within GTR Connect.

I have read and agree to the Privacy Policy *
I have read and agree to the Terms and Conditions *.

Privacy Policy

Our privacy commitments

This Privacy Policy outlines the information we may collect about you in relation to your use of our websites, events, related publications and services (“personal data”) and how we may use that personal data. It also outlines the methods by which we and our service providers may (subject to necessary consents) monitor your online behaviour to deliver customised advertisements, marketing materials and other tailored services. This Privacy Policy also tells you how you can verify the accuracy of your personal data and how you can request that we delete or update it.

This Privacy Policy applies to all websites operated by Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd (as indicated on the relevant website).

This privacy statement does not cover the activities of third parties, and you should consult those third-party sites’ privacy policies for information on how your data is used by them.

Any questions regarding this Policy and our privacy practices should be sent by e-mail to privacy@gtreview.com or by writing to Data Protection Officer at, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, 4 Hillgate Place, London, SW12 9ER, United Kingdom. Alternatively, you can telephone our London headquarters at +44 (0) 20 8673 9666.

Who are we?

Established in 2002 and with offices in London and Singapore, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd is the world’s leading trade and trade finance media company, offering information, news, events and services for companies and individuals involved in global trade.

Our principal business activities are:

  • Business-to-Business financial publishing. We provide a range of products and services focused on international commodities, export, supply chain and trade finance markets including magazines, newsletters, electronic information and data
  • Organisers of seminars, conferences, training courses and exhibitions for the finance industry

Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd is a company registered in the United Kingdom with company number 4407327 | VAT Registration: 799 1585 59

Data Protection Policy

This Data Protection Policy explains when and why we collect personal information about people who visit our website, how we use it, the conditions under which we may disclose it to others and how we keep it secure.

Why do we collect information from you?

Our primary goal in collecting personal data from you is to give you an enjoyable customised experience whilst allowing us to provide services and features that will meet your needs.
We collect certain personal data from you, which you give to us when using our Site and/or registering or subscribing for our products and services. However, we also give you the option to access our Sites’ home pages without subscribing or registering or disclosing your personal data.

We also collect certain personal data from other group companies to whom you have given information through their websites (including, by way of example, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd and subsidiaries, in accordance with the purposes listed below). Should we discover that any such personal data has been delivered to any of the Sites, we will remove that information as soon as possible.

Why this policy exists

This Data Protection Policy ensures Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd:

  • Complies with data protection law and follow good practice
  • Protects the rights of staff, customers and partners
  • Is open about how it stores and processes individuals’ data
  • pretexts itself from the risk of a data breach

We may change this Policy from time to time so please check this page occasionally to ensure that you’re happy with any changes. By using our website, you’re agreeing to be bound by this Policy.

Data protection law

The Data Protection Act 1998 described how organisations – including Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd – must collect, handle and store personal information. These rules apply regardless of whether data is stored electronically, on paper or on other materials. To comply with the law, personal information collected must be stored safely, not disclosed unlawfully and used fairly.

The Data Protection Act is underpinned by eight important principles. These say that personal data must:

  • Be processed fairly and lawfully
  • Be obtained only for specific, lawful purposes
  • Be adequate, relevant and not excessive
  • Be accurate and kept up to date
  • Not be held for any longer than necessary
  • Processed in accordance with the rights of data subjects
  • Be protected in appropriate ways
  • Not be transferred outside the European Economic Area (EEA), unless that country of territory also ensures an adequate level of protection

How do we collect information from you?

We obtain information about you when you use our website, for example, when you contact us about products and services, when you register for an event, register to receive eNewsletters, subscribe or register for a trial to our GTR magazine/website.

 Types of Personal Data Held and its Use

1.      Customer Services and Administration

On some Sites, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd collects personal data such as your name, job title, department, company, e-mail, phone, work and/or home address, in order to register you for access to certain content, subscriptions and events. In addition, we may also store information including IP address and page analytics, including information regarding what pages are accessed, by whom and when.

This information is used to administer and deliver to you the products and/or services you have requested, to operate our Sites efficiently and improve our service to you, and to retain records of our business transactions and communications. By using the Sites and submitting personal information through the registration process you are agreeing that we may collect, hold, process and use your information (including personal information) for the purpose of providing you with the Site services and developing our business, which shall include (without limitation) the purposes described in the below paragraphs.

2.      Monitoring use of our Sites

Where, as part of our Site services, we enable you to post information or materials on our Site, we may access and monitor any information which you upload or input, including in any password-protected sections. Subject to any necessary consents, we also monitor and/or record the different Sites you visit and actions taken on those Sites, e.g. content viewed or searched for. If you are a registered user (e.g. a subscriber or taking a trial), when you log on, this places a cookie on your machine. This enables your access to content and services that

are not publicly available. Once you are logged on, the actions you take – for example, viewing an article – will be recorded (subject to any necessary consents). We may use technology or a service provider to do this for us. This information may be used for one or more of the following purposes:

  • to fulfil our obligations to you;
  • to improve the efficiency, quality and design of our Sites and services;
  • to see which articles, features and services are most read and used
  • to track compliance with our terms and conditions of use, e.g. to ensure that you are acting within the scope of your user licence;
  • for marketing purposes (subject to your rights to opt-in and opt-out of receiving certain marketing communications) – see paragraph 3 below;
  • for advertising purposes, although the information used for these purposes does not identify you personally. Please see paragraph 5 below for more details;
  • to protect or comply with our legal rights and obligations; and
  • to enable our journalists to contact and interact with you online in connection with any content you may post to our Sites.

Please see paragraph 5 below for more information on cookies and similar technologies and a link to a page where you can turn them on or off.

3.      Marketing

Some of your personal data collected under paragraphs 1 and 2 above may be used by us to contact you by e-mail, telephone and/or post for sending information or promotional material on our products and/or services and/or those of our other group companies. We give you the opportunity to opt-out of receiving marketing communications. Further detail can be found on the applicable Site and in the footer of each marketing communication sent by us, our group companies or service providers. See also “Consents and opt-outs” section below. We will not share your information with third parties for marketing purposes.

4.      Profiling

We may analyse your personal information to create a profile of your interests and preferences so that we can contact you with information relevant to you.

5.      Cookies and similar technologies

All our Sites use cookies and similar technical tools to collect information about your access to the Site and the services we provide.

What is a cookie?

When you enter some sites, your computer will be issued with a cookie. Cookies are text files that identify your computer to servers. Cookies in themselves do not identify the individual user, just the computer used.

Many sites do this whenever a user visits their site in order to track traffic flows, recording those areas of the site that have been visited by the computer in question, and for how long.

Users have the opportunity to set their computers to accept all cookies, to notify them when a cookie is issued, or not to receive cookies at any time. Selecting not to receive means that certain personalised services Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd offers cannot then be provided to that user.

 

Why do we use cookies?

  1. Log In – Where we provide log in mechanisms for site users a cookie is created at login and for the duration of the session. Each cookie contains a unique reference number only (no personal information) which is used to confirm you are authorised.
  2. Analytics – To allow us to keep track of traffic to our website we use cookies. The cookies simply tell us if you have previously visited our website so we can get more accurate figures for New vs Returning visitors.

Find and control your cookies

All of the major browser providers offer advice on setting up and using the privacy and security functions for their products. If you require technical advice or support for a specific browser/version please contact the provider or visit their website for further details: www.microsoft.com / www.mozilla.com / www.apple.com / www.opera.com / www.aol.com / www.netscape.com / www.flock.com / www.google.com.

We may use cookies to:

  • remember that you have used the Site before; this means we can identify the number of unique visitors we receive to different parts of the Site. This allows us to make sure we have enough capacity for the number of users that we get and make sure that the Site runs fast enough
  • remember your login session so you can move from one page to another within the Site;
  • store your preferences or your user name and password so that you do not need to input these details every time you visit the Site;
  • customise elements of the layout and/or content of the pages of Site for you;
  • record activity on our Sites so that we understand how you use our Sites enabling us to better tailor our content, services and marketing to your needs;
  • collect statistical information about how you use the Site so that we can improve the Site; and
  • gather information about the pages on the Site that you visit, and other information about other websites that you visit, so as to place you in a “market segment”. This information is only collected by reference to the IP address that you are using, but does include information about the county and city you are in, together with the name of your internet service provider.

Most web browsers automatically accept cookies but, if you prefer, you can change your browser to prevent that, or to notify you each time a cookie is set. You can also learn more about cookies in general by visiting www.allaboutcookies.org which includes additional useful information on cookies and how to block cookies using different types of browser. Please note however, that by blocking, deleting or turning off cookies used on the Site you may not be able to take full advantage of the Site.

6.      E-mail tracking

E-mail tracking is a method for monitoring the e-mail delivery to those subscribers who have opted-in to receive marketing e-mails from GTR, including GTR Africa, GTR Asia, GTR Americas, GTR Europe, GTR Mena, GTR eNews, Third party e-mails and GTR Ventures.

Why do we track e-mails?

So that we can better understand our users’ needs, we track responses, subscription behaviour and engagement to our e-mails – for example, to see which links are the most popular in newsletters. They enable us to understand the consumers journey through metrics including open rate, click-through rate, bounces and unsubscribes. Any other purposes for which Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd wishes to use your personal data will be notified to you and your personal data will not be used for any such purpose without obtaining your prior consent.

How do you track GTR eNewsletters?

To do this, we use pixel GIFs, also known as “pixel tags” – these are small image files that are placed within the body of our e-mail messages. When that image is downloaded from our web servers, the e-mail is recorded as being opened. By using some form of digitally time-stamped record to reveal the exact time and date that an e-mail was received or opened, as well the IP address of the recipient.

7.      Consents and opt-outs

You can give your consent to opt-out of all or any particular uses of your data as indicated above by:

  • Indicating at the point on the relevant Site where personal data is collected
  • Informing us by e-mail, post or phone
  • Updating your preferences on the applicable Site or eNewsletter (unsubscribe and preference options are available in the footer of each eNewsletter)

To turn cookies and similar technologies on and off, see the information in paragraph 5 above. Any questions regarding consents and opt-outs should be sent by e-mail to privacy@gtreview.com or by writing to Data Protection Officer at, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, 4 Hillgate Place, London, SW12 9ER, United Kingdom. Alternatively, you can telephone our London headquarters at +44 (0) 20 8673 9666.

8.      Disclosures

Information collected at one Site may be shared between Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd and other group companies for the purposes listed above.

We may transfer, sell or assign any of the information described in this policy to third parties as a result of a sale, merger, consolidation, change of control, transfer of assets or reorganisation of our business.

9.      Public forums, message boards and blogs

Some of our Sites may have a message board, blogs or other facilities for user generated content available and users can participate in these facilities. Any information that is disclosed in these areas becomes public information and you should always be careful when deciding to disclose your personal information.

10.  Data outside the EEA

Services on the Internet are accessible globally so collection and transmission of personal data is not always limited to one country. Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd may transfer your personal data, for the above-listed purposes to other third parties, which may be located outside the European Economic Area and/or with a different level of personal data protection. However, when conducting transfers, we take all necessary steps to ensure that your data is treated reasonably, securely and in accordance with this Privacy Statement.

Who has access to your information?

Confidentiality and Security of Your Personal Data

We are committed to keeping the data you provide us secure and will take reasonable precautions to protect your personal data from loss, misuse or alteration.

However, the transmission of information via the internet is not completely secure. Although we will do our best to protect your personal data, we cannot guarantee the security of your data transmitted to our Site; any transmission is at your own risk. Once we have received your information, we will use strict procedures and security features described above to try to prevent unauthorised access.

We have implemented information security policies, rules and technical measures to protect the personal data that we have under our control from:

  • unauthorised access
  • improper use or disclosure
  • unauthorised modification
  • unlawful destruction or accidental loss

All our employees, contractors and data processors (i.e. those who process your personal data on our behalf, for the purposes listed above), who have access to, and are associated with the processing of your personal data, are obliged to keep the information confidential and not use it for any other purpose than to carry out the services they are performing for us.

Responsibilities

Everyone who works for or with Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd has some responsibility for ensuring data is collected, stored and handled appropriately. Each team handling personal data must ensure that it is handled and processed in line with this policy and data protection principles. However, the following people have key areas of responsibility. The board of directors is ultimately responsible for ensuring that Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd meets its legal obligations.

Name of Data Controller

The Data Controller is Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd. Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd is subject to the UK Data Protection Act 1998 and is registered in the UK with the Information Commissioner`s Office.

How to access, update and erase your personal information

If you wish to know whether we are keeping personal data about you, or if you have an enquiry about our privacy policy or your personal data held by us, in relation to any of the Sites, you can contact the Data Protection Officer via:

  • By writing to this address: Data Protection Officer, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, 4 Hillgate Place, London, SW12 9ER, UK
  • Telephone: +44 (0) 20 8673 9666
  • E-mail: privacy@gtreview.com

Upon request, we will provide you with a readable copy of the personal data which we keep about you. We may require proof of your identity and may charge a small fee (not exceeding the statutory maximum fee that can be charged) to cover administration and postage.

Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd allows you to challenge the data that we hold about you and, where appropriate in accordance with applicable laws, you may have your personal information:

  • erased
  • rectified or amended
  • completed

Disclosing data for other reasons

In certain circumstances, the Data Protection Act allows personal data to be disclosed to law enforcement agencies without the consent of the data subject. Under these circumstances, Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd, will disclose requested data. However, the Data Controller will ensure the request is legitimate, seeking assistance from the board and from the company’s legal advisors where necessary.

Changes to this Privacy Statement

We will occasionally update this Privacy Statement to reflect new legislation or industry practice, group company changes and customer feedback. We encourage you to review this Privacy Statement periodically to be informed of how we are protecting your personal data.

Providing information

Exporta Publishing & Events Ltd aims to ensure that individuals are aware that their data is being processed, and that they understand.

  • How the data is being used
  • How to exercise their rights

To this end, the company has a privacy statement, setting out how data relating to individuals is used by the company. This is available on request and available on the company’s website.

Review of this policy

We keep this Policy under regular review. This Privacy Statement was last updated in April 2018.

Contact Us
Due to a high number of registrations you may have issues logging in or registering. If you are experiencing issues, please contact events@gtreview.com.